Skip to content

Nearly Fell For A Clever Scam – Can’t Help But Respect The Symbology In the Scammers Signature

July 18, 2013
Clever Print Scam

So i have this email in my inbox when I woke up today:

David May <david.may55@gmail.com>
Jul 16 (1 day ago)

to bcc: me
Good Day,I’d like to get a quote on printing 120,000 copies of Flyers.These
will be printed with the following specifications:Description: Flyers
8.5″ x 11″ Classic full-page size.
High quality, full-color with no bleed
One sided
Paper: 100# Glossy Text
Time Frame: 7-10 Days

I will be providing a PDF file ready for printing and since this is a
pick up order, please advise the total cost plus applicable tax.

Regards,
David

And I’m not really thinking anything of it. Random emails requesting quotes happen, and like any print request, I forward it to the family print shop.

Curious about which company or organization he might belong to, and how we might have met and/or he obtained my contact information, I Googled his email address.

Seriously, think about this for a second (Googling Emails)

You are the only one that has your own email address, correct? Therefore, if that email address pops up in search, however it’s referenced is related to you. People don’t just write about “Bob@acme.com”. If bob@acme.com pops up in search, it’s relevant to the owner of that address.

Therefore, Googling someones email address is a great method of researching, spying, stalking, profiling…..There’s a lot of words that can describe this function, based on circumstances, right?

So what pops up? This article about a print scam.

The Scam

  1. Request print quote
  2. Accept quote and provide payment information
  3. Request print be shipped via a playball “logistics” company
  4. Logistics is to be paid for by printer and invoiced
  5. Credit card payment is declined

Innovative. In all my career dealing with print (still dabble with it) I’ve never seen a print scam. I’ve had clients who never paid, but never a “legitimate scam” (oxymoron?)

The Symbolism In The Scam’s Signature

One thing I really respect though is the signature the scammer leaves:

Clever Print Scam

“Give a hand to the needy” implying a Robin Hood type scenario where the “thief” stole from the “rich”. So when the printer is left high and dry, they’re left with nothing but that message. Was this part of the plot? The scammer signing the scheme, expressing that he needed the money more than the company?

I believe so, only because I made the connection instantly upon seeing that image above. I guess enough thought has gone into the scam itself, it’s safe to assume that at least enough thought went into the message in the art.

From → Blog

One Comment
  1. Thank you so much for sharing this! My small business got a similar inquiry but it sounds like we shouldn’t waste our time… You may be saving us from a big headache!

Leave a Reply

